EME Module 3 post

Standard
  • As a college student I have used MS Word quite often. It is the modern age notepad! Not only do  I use Word to submit assignments, but also to take notes and draft new ideas. Word is so naturally ingrained in us digital natives that we use it without thinking twice. Teachers also use Word quite often, however I feel it has probably taken them a bit longer to become accustomed to it. They use Word to draft a digital syllabus, create homework, and provide class calendars. I believe I will use Word quite often as teacher as that is how I will draft anything I choose to send electronically. For digital natives, one of the best thing about Word is the automatic spell-check. I will use Word to draft any document I will submit to students or parents to ensure spelling and formatting are correct. I will also use the mail merge feature to create newsletters custom to each family, a feature I am new to learn and eager to use!

  • Copyright is a very commonly discussed topic in college as it is often broken by college students. As a teacher the first thing I will do to address copyright infringement is to thoroughly discuss what copyright is, and what plagiarism is. I believe students are often confused as what the true definition of plagiarism is which is often the root of the problem. As a teacher I will naturally pull sources from other teachers on the internet, however I will make sure all of my sources are sited for my students. Even if I pull a piece of information from another teachers work, I will reference the original work. This protects me as a teacher and also sets an example of how I want my students to behave.


    school newsletter pic 1 school newsletter pic 2

  • This weeks assignment of creating a newsletter was so much fun! I used a Microsoft Template to help with the general formatting, which proved as a great aid. I will definitely continue using Microsoft Templates in the beginning. I loved creating the stories, as I was able to cater to my field of students who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing, and spotlight issues I felt should be addressed. One of the hardest parts for me was creating the permission slip. I looked online for examples, but ultimately I created my own. While it was challenging to format everything correctly, it was definitely rewarding to see the end product. I feel in the future I will be able to edit the document faster and more efficiently. This assignment took me a good bit of time, so hopefully with practice I will become more comfortable. All in all, it was a very fun assignment and I am really happy with how it turned out.

I commented on:

eme2040ahall

ker14c

One response »

  1. I too think it’s important to make sure your students know the class policy, as well as somewhat of “life policy” of plagiarism and cheating. Students should know that there are rules when it comes to using someone else’s work. I too had difficulty with the word graphics assignment 2. It was much harder than the quiz we completed last week but mostly just more time consuming. I can’t wait to show mine next week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

